Print       Share

About the Bank


Section 15 (1) of the Central Bank of Malaysia Act 2009 provides that the Governor shall be appointed by the Yang di-Pertuan Agong, and the Deputy Governors by the Minister (charged with the responsibility for finance). Since the Bank's inception in 1959, there has been nine Governors.

Current Governor

Datuk Nor Shamsiah binti Mohd Yunus

(Effective 1 July 2018)


Previous Governors

Click to view full list

May 2016 - June 2018
Tan Sri Muhammad bin Ibrahim

May 2000 - April 2016
Tan Sri Dato' Sri Dr. Zeti Akhtar Aziz

September 1998 - April 2000
Tan Sri Dato' Seri Ali Abul Hassan bin Sulaiman

May 1994 - August 1998
Tan Sri Dato' Ahmad bin Mohd Don

June 1985 - May 1994
Tan Sri Dato' Jaffar bin Hussein

July 1980 - June 1985
Tan Sri Abdul Aziz bin Taha 

July 1962 - July 1980
Tun Ismail bin Mohamed Ali

January 1959 - July 1962
Tan Sri W.H. Wilcock