Print       Share

Historical Background

The First Series

Malaysian coins were first issued on 12 June 1967. They were produced in five denominations ​​(1 sen, 5 sen, 10 sen, 20 sen and 50 sen), all bearing the same motif. The $1 coin for normal circulation was issued on 1 May 1971. The obverse of each coin depicted the Parliament building, symbolising the Malaysian people's faith in democracy. The crescent symbolised Islam, the official religion of the nation, and the 13-pointed stars symbolised Malaysia’s 13 component states. On the reverse, the coins depicted the national flower, the bunga raya (hibiscus), and carried the word `Malaysia’ and the minting year.

The currency images featured in this website are not necessarily printed in actual size. Separate measurements are given according to the importance of items shown.
Further information on the history of Malaysian currency is available in a book titled “Malaysian Numismatic Heritage” (ISBN-983-9586-36-X).

See also:



     First Series
     Second Series
     Third Series

     First Series
     Second Series